Art Docent Resources

Art Docent Resources

For art lessons and print media:

  1. Our school library:  http://www.westwoodland.org/classrooms/library/index.htm
  2. Rm. 209 library: North Shore School District Books, SRA Books (prints, art lessons, presentation boards, transparencies), gray file cabinet (lessons per grade, samples and lesson plans)
  3. Incredible Art,  http://www.princetonol.com/groups/iad/lessons/lessons.html
  4. Kinder Art, http://www.kinderart.com
  5. Artsonia, http://www.artsonia.com/teachers/lessonplans/
  6. Dick Blick, http://www.dickblick.com/
  7. RobertSabuda.com: Simple Pop-Ups You Can Make!, http://www.robertsabuda.com/popmakesimple.asp
  8. Monoprints, http://www.monoprints.com/info/how_to.html
  9. Arizona State University, Herberger Instutute for Design and the Arts,  http://artswork.asu.edu/arts/
  10. The art room has a collection of prints in one of the gray cabinets.

Places:

  1. Seattle Art Museum,  http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/
  2. The Frye Art Museum,  http://fryemuseum.org/
  3. The Henry Art Gallery https://henryart.org/
  4. The Children's Museum http://thechildrensmuseum.org/
  5. The Wing Luke Asian Art Museum http://www.wingluke.org/
  6. The Burke Museum, http://www.washington.edu/burkemuseum/
  7. Space to Create
  8. Pratt Fine Arts Center, http://www.pratt.org/classes/2dArts.html

On art education/instruction: books, published studies, supplies, etc:

  1. Drawing for Children,  Mona Brookes
  2. The Art of Teaching Art to Children, by Nancy Beal
  3. Perpich Center for Arts Education, http://www.mcae.k12.mn.us/
  4. Gifts of the Muse, Reframing the Debate About the Benefits of the Arts, by Kevin F. McCarthy, Elizabeth H. Ondaatje, Laura Zakaras.
  5. Knowledge Center – Educational Leadership, Arts Appreciation, and After School Programs Research, Reports, Articles & Tools | The Wallace Foundation, http://www.wallacefoundation.org/KNOWLEDGECENTER/Pages/default.aspx
  6. Seattle Public Schools- The Arts.  http://www.seattleschools.org/area/arts/arts_eNews/current.xml
  7. Dick Blick, http://www.dickblick.com/
  8. Seattle Pottery Supplies, http://www.seattlepotterysupply.com
  9. Artist & Craftsman Supply, http://www.artistcraftsman.com
  10. OSPI, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction. The Essential Academic Learning Requirements (EALRs), for K-12 Arts, http://www.k12.wa.us/Arts/Standards/default.aspx
  11. VTS Visual Thinking Strategies,  http://www.vtshome.org/
  12. Children and Painting and Children, Clay and Sculpture, Topal
  13. Hooked on Drawing, Sandy Brook website community for "makers" in education - http://makered.makezine.com/ affiliated with MAKE Magazine


© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.